Virtuous People

All off topic conversation held here. Have fun and play nice. =)

Moderators: Bookworm, starkruzr, MrFireDragon, PrettyPrincess, Wapsi

Catawampus

Virtuous People

Post by Catawampus »

I have some background in theology and philosophy, and I was thinking about some of the debates about virtue and sin and whatnot. Since many of you lot tend to be somewhat thoughtful by nature, come from a wide range of backgrounds, and often aren't shy about expressing your opinions, I figured that I'd try a little poll on the matter.

So, the scenario: There are three men who work for a rich man. Each day, the rich man's gold is brought out of its safe and counted.

The first man not only never steals any of the gold while counting it, but the very notion of stealing is totally alien to him. The thought that he could take somebody else's stuff never crosses his mind.

The second man often thinks about how nice it would be to pocket a little bit of the gold every now and then. But he never steals any of the gold, either, in spite of counting it day after day.

The third man simply leaves the area whenever the gold is going to be brought out, so that he never has to face the temptation.

How do these different men rate as far as virtue?
GlytchMeister

Re: Virtuous People

Post by GlytchMeister »

The first man is perfectly innocent, like Errand from the Belgariad and Malloreon series. The second man is strong and virtuous in the face of temptation. The third man is weak, but still virtuous and knows his limits - and found a clever way to abstain from “sin.” So he is, I would say, strong in a different way.
He's mister GlytchMeister, he's mister code
He's mister exploiter, he's mister ones and zeros
They call me GlytchMeister, whatever I touch
Starts to glitch in my clutch!
I'm too much!
Dave

Post by Dave »